Uncomfortable with pseudonyms…?

When I first started writing I was working, though my bosses were absolutely nonchalant to my online activities, I used three pseudonyms and my own name to write for MSN’s user’s archive, and honestly the editor pampered me silly.

The reason was simple- I was pouring my heart out in those writings and quite a lot for very sensitive, and quite harsh too, back then I have just started writing, forgive me! Now I write them as fictions of course!

Then I realized how one of my pseudonyms Agni was hogging all the glory, and most of the attention of the editor, I became a bit jealous and then things took turn and I ended up in home, and my writing became my salvation, no longer hobby. As I was not accountable to anyone anymore I decided that I will never use a pseudonym again, for anything. If I use I will use my own name and accurate information, because as a writer (and certainly as a friend) I preferred a crystal clear image. My readers and friends should know who they are communicating with, or are reading- her vices and her virtues (if any!).

With time I feel more and more comfortable with the decision that I bade goodbye to pseudonyms after a one year romance- 2007 to 2008, after that whatever I did got credited to my own name, no pseudonym to hog or steal that hard work’s result.

I really don’t see me using a pseudonym in future either. Especially after starting my own ezines, now if I want to write something really harsh I will write that there!

But I believe pseudonym is a very good idea for those-
who have a career.
who have a social circle they are accountable to.

What do you think?

2 thoughts on “Uncomfortable with pseudonyms…?

  1. Pseudonyms can be useful sometimes, but in my case, the cat was out of the proverbial bag anyway and I decided to open up to the readers while still using my online handle for commenting and avatars. Not much has changed as a result, though I’ve still yet to receive serious threat, and that surprises me.

    Like

    1. I decided to be myself because I don’t have a boss or family glaring at me for writing the things I am 🙂

      Human beings love to heckle others, with or without reason! That fact no longer surprises me, I believe quite a hefty percentage think they are doing a brilliant job by heckling, duping others!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

